I have experienced a well number of interviews for my practicum and internship, and if you have not checked out my post on Interview questions hospitals ask you, check it out here

Image result for alice in wonderland gif

And like dear Alice, I was lost in Wonderland of how to deal with the interview process. Interviews are not easy and every hospital is different with their approach. It’s becoming more competitive out there…But don’t go completely mad (just yet).

One important element of the interview process is for you to also ask questions from the hospitals, especially near the end of the interview where there is that golden opportunity to do so. You have every right to know what you feel you need to know about the hospitals you are applying to.

Sure, you can go google: Questions to Ask your Interviewer.

Image result for alice in wonderland gif

You won’t get as catered results pertaining to child life interviews as you will see here (not to brag!) I think these questions are a little more unique, even when I was applying originally and are questions I wish I asked when I was involved in this process!

Here are my top 10 questions I would ask:

  1. Where do your interns typically rotate?
  2. What is your definition of a “learning experience” in your program?
  3. Any accommodations that can be met for me? (Especially if you have any specific needs such as visual impairment/needs, etc. When I suggest this question, I do not mean housing)
  4. How do you grade/evaluate your students to make sure they are meeting the ACLP guidelines for receiving clinical verification?
  5.  What is one skill you expect an intern should master by the end of the internship?
  6. What is your philosophy about Child Life? What is your teaching philosophy when working with students?
  7. Is there anything that you have seen and read so far about in my application that you would like to know more about?
  8. How do other hospital/medical staff respond and work with practicum/intern students?
  9. What is one quality you want students to present once they are in the practicum/internship?
  10. Are you able to provide information/resources regarding housing/relocation should students accept an offer?

Good luck on your interviews; after all you might be mad, and going completely bonkers,

Image result for alice in wonderland gif