Once upon a time in 1994, Timon and Pumba gave the most important advice to Simba:

Image result for hakuna matata gif

All you Disney Fans and DisNerds out there know this means: No Worries.

To be frank, I am just now starting to get it. Like really get it.

This past week, I unfortunately caught a little illness. Not the best timing, but when is it ever? When I went to see the doctor, he ruled out a bunch of issues, gave me medications to ease my illness and bodily responses, and suggested I take a few extra days of rest. He did mention that stress could have potentially induced my illness as well.

I was super frustrated at myself. Why could I not keep it together? Why RIGHT now did this have to happen? How could I have missed the signs my body was telling me before it got so bad? I have been studying the importance of self-care since…. uh forever… how could I do this to myself and let myself go? How could I let all these things get to me so easily?

Image result for lion king stampede gif

I talked it out with my family, my mentors, and loved ones and I realized that their job was to keep reminding me that it was OK to spend some time relaxing and recharging so I could go back to my normal routine. Most importantly, they reminded me that if I didn’t take care of myself, then I would miss more days!!

So, I’ve been resting and trying to get better so that after this upcoming Memorial Holiday, I can rest and be ready for what comes my way.

I sat down with myself and started thinking about how there have been some other stressors hidden away inside of me that I did not truly allow myself to feel. That build up (along with a possible stomach bug and iffy diet) was clearly more than what my body could handle. For the first time in a while, I released these emotions and believe it or not, I feel strikingly better. This reflection was a huge key to my relief because I finally could let out what was really bothering me and figure out how to handle it in the near future.

So what is the point of this conversation? Well, not to sound like a broken record, but it is about self-care. Self care truly is important. And I am here to tell you a few things from what I have learned:

  1. It is OK to not have to take responsibility or charge of everything. You cannot possibly have control over everything, nor can you control an outcome. Sometimes you have to accept some things as they are and move forward. Image result for hakuna matata gif
  2. It is OK to fall back on your friends and family, and people you trust because they really do want to see you succeed and will help you when you absolutely need it most. The best way they can always help you is when they simply listen. And if they do a little extra, then embrace it! You are NOT an inconvenience to anyone!!! Image result for hakuna matata gif
  3. When you are over-stimulated, that will cause stress. Even if de-stressing means looking at your phone, that is still stimulation. I cannot tell you how active and stimulated I am on a daily basis from the time I wake up until the time I go to sleep and struggle to find time to get myself in a calm place. Then BOOM! Start all over again. No break… So make sure you find ways to calm your body and mind.Related image
  4. If you don’t give yourself a chance to take a break, you will have more negative outcomes. (Recently, I have been addicted to the Hamilton soundtrack, and let me tell you, when Hamilton didn’t take his wife’s advice to take a break, he got into some trouble. I won’t spoil it for those who haven’t seen the show, but for you HamFam fans out there,  you know what I mean!!)Image result for hakuna matata gifSo my bottom line is, make sure you take time for yourself. No I mean it! Don’t roll your eyes at this. I really mean it. This was a HUGE wake up call for me. Do whatever you like to do to unwind and destress, there’s plenty of options out there if you can’t think of one or if you need to find something different. But take care of yourself and you will succeed!

 

***And for all of you at the 2017 Child Life Conference, enjoy and Viva Las Vegas!! Can’t wait to hear your favorite experiences!!****

 

 

